My journey in tech

People ask me when I got into tech. And I don’t know the answer to this but I know I got to know about it in 2019 but I really got into tech in 2020 and took it seriously in 2021.

Before tech, I had nothing doing. It was 10th grade when I had to decide which department class I will be but I had no idea all my decisions had a disadvantage that will make me end up failing the class. All I knew was that I want to become a medical doctor after school, But I never liked what it takes to become a medical doctor or maybe I never saw the light in it. I only chose it because it's one of the most popular professions in the world, uhmm I liked science but urgh!

I got into the science department and guess I hated science. I only stayed because the other departments were the most for me. I failed my first year in science class, did I give up? No! because the rest classes were hell. I only had to read to pass my exams and I didn't fail again. Even though I hated physics and chemistry I loved computer science, it was the only class I enjoyed and passed without any effort. I was struggling in my other subjects.

It was summer and I went home, my sister Gift Egwuenu had talked about me learning tech because of my whole love for the computer. My dad got me a laptop and it was easy for me to get started. My sister took me to a summer coding camp @[She Code Africa Lagos](@SheCodeAfrica_lagos where she was also mentoring. In the camp, I was taught HTML and the basis of CSS. If you ask me I understood that better than my Physics and Chemistry, I was like this is definitely my path.

I resumed my school (boarding house). When I told my computer teacher what I had done over the summer, he said it was nice but advised me to learn Corel Draw since that is what we had been using in class. I didn't have time to code while I was in school, so I put it off until my next vacation. When I came home, I picked up coding again and practiced using FreeCodeCamp. It was endless I wanted to finish at all cause I could move on to the next stage. I completed the course on responsive designs. Finally! At this time, I was overjoyed that 2020 was already over, I was 16 then.

I graduated from secondary school and guess what? I had enough time to do all my coding and stuff. I began to use Twitter and LinkedIn where I saw a lot of people of my age doing the same stuff and that made me feel like I had a family with me. I participated in #100DaysofCode, however, I never achieved my goal for it. I did a lot of networking and even got to be in several internship programs as a front-end developer. It was the best experience learning with the public and having friends that can relate to my complaints and errors. I got to understand the basis of front-end development and now I'm building projects with frameworks.